october, 2020

sun25oct4:00 pm5:15 pmAwards PresentationCategory:FREE,iN2020,Livestream,Special Events


(Sunday) 4:00 pm - 5:15 pm(GMT-11:00) View in my time

Event Details

Join us as we recognize and honour this year’s jury-selected prize winners!
This year we are pleased to present Tiffany Ayalik as our host as she guides us through an afternoon of celebrating Indigenous achievement in film and media arts.
Tiffany Ayalik is from Yellowknife, NT and is Inuit from the Kugluktuk region. It was in the North, listening to stories from her elders, that she discovered her love of storytelling, and the powerful change that hearing a story can bring about. After receiving her Diploma in Acting from Red Deer College, she continued her studies at the University of Alberta, and graduated ‘With Distinction’ with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting. Tiffany travels across Canada and has performed in Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Finland and in Europe sharing her blend of story, song, movement, and improv.
Born into the respected multi-generational traditional singing Wood family, Fawn Wood’s singing reflects her Cree and Salish tribal lineage. At an early age Fawn would sing her heart out at pow-wows alongside her mother and father. In 2006 Fawn was the first female to win the Hand Drum contest at the Gathering of Nation’s Pow-Wow. In 2009 she opened the show at the 11th Annual Native American Music Awards (NAMMYS). In 2010 she also sang with her partner, Dallas Waskahat for the opening of the Aboriginal People’s Choice Music Awards in Winnepeg, Manitoba.
Decree is the 2019 recipient of the Bullseye Music Award through imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music. He is grateful for the chance to share his music and stories. His recent single, Ekosi, can be found on all platforms. His debut album, Sacred Fire, is set to be released late 2020. Since releasing songs in 2014, Decree’s music has appeared on CBC, SiriusXM, ElementFM, and Zoomer Radio, as well as several commercials and tv programs.
imagineNATIVE Awards and Prizes 2020:
  • Award for Innovation in Storytelling in recognition of Kent Monkman with support from Sobeys ($2,500) and a donation from Kent Monkman ($5,000) for a $7,500 cash prize
  • Documentary Work Short Format Award with support from TVO for a $2,500 cash prize
  • Documentary Work Long Format Award in recognition of the legacy of Alanis Obomsawin with support from CBC for a $5,000 cash prize
  • Experimental Audio Award with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,000 cash prize
  • Narrative Audio Award with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,000 cash prize
  • Digital + Interactive Award, Emerging with support from imagineNATIVE for a $1,500 cash prize
  • Digital + Interactive Award, Mid-Career with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,500 cash prize
  • Indigenous Language Production Award with support from Indigenous Media Initiatives for a $2,500 cash prize
  • New Voice in Storytelling Award in honour of Jane Glassco and Ellen Monague with support from the CJ Foundation and Humber College for a $2,500 cash prize
  • The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence with support from Joan Karasevich Schellenberg, ACTRA National and ACTRA Fraternal Benefit Society for a $2,500 cash prize
  • The Audience Choice Award, Feature Film with support from Air Canada for a $2,500 cash prize
  • The Audience Choice Award, Short Film with support from BMO for a $2,500 cash prize
  • The Sun Jury Award with support from the Directors Guild of Canada for a $2,500 cash prize
  • The Moon Jury Award with support from the Directors Guild of Canada for a $2,500 cash prize
  • Live Action Short Award in recognition of founders Cynthia Lickers-Sage and Vtape  with support from Vtape ($2,500) and a donation from Jason Ryle ($5,000) for a $7,500 cash prize
  • Dramatic Feature Award with support from CRAVE for a $7,500 cash prize


Scroll to Top
We at imagineNATIVE acknowledge that this land located on present-day Tkaronto (Toronto) is the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, the Haudenosaunee, the Huron-Wendat, and the Mississaugas of the Credit.

We acknowledge the Dish With One Spoon covenant, a treaty whose spirit is one based in collective stewardship and reciprocity. We take the spirit of this covenant to the core of our operations as we bring artists and audiences from many nations across the globe together through our various initiatives and activities.

Please take a moment to think of the land you currently reside upon, wherever you may be, and  acknowledge those who went before and those yet to come.