Awards Jury


The Moon Jury is responsible for adjudicating: Dramatic Feature Award; Live Action Shot Award; Award for Innovation in Storytelling; Indigenous Language Production Award; and the Moon Jury Award.

Raven Chacon - Diné
Raven Chacon – Diné
Raven Chacon is a Diné American composer and artist. He is known as a composer of chamber music as well as a performer of experimental noise music and is recognized as one of few Native Americans working in either genre. Chacon is currently based between Albuquerque, New Mexico, and Toronto, Ontario. As a solo artist, collaborator and a former member of Postcommodity Chacon has exhibited and performed internationally.
Asinnajaq - Inuk
Asinnajaq – Inuk
Asinnajaq. Inuk visual artist, filmmaker and writer. Asinnajaq’s work is fuelled by respect for human rights, a desire to explore her Inuit heritage and a sense of wonder in what she calls “the abundant beauty of the world.” She studied cinema at Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University in Halifax. Her 2016 short film Upinnaqusittik (Lucky) premiered at iNuit Blanche, the first-ever circumpolar arts festival in St. John’s, Canada.
Chelsea Winstanley - Māori
Chelsea Winstanley – Māori
Chelsea Winstanley is a Ngāti Ranginui producer and director known for Jojo Rabbit (2019), Merata: How Mom Decolonized the Screen (2018), What We Do in the Shadows (2014) and Night Shift (2012). As a director, Winstanley was one of the directors of portmanteau, TIFF’17 film Waru. Her short “Forgive Me” premiered at imagineNATIVE in 2019 and she is currently directing Toi Tu Toi Ora – Visual Sovereignty. In 2020 Winstanley announced the launch of L.A. and Aotearoa-based production company This Too Shall Pass to tell “authentic stories with unique cultural perspectives.”


The Sun Jury is responsible for adjudicating: Documentary Work Long Format Award; Documentary Work Short Format Award; New Voice in Storytelling Award; and the Sun Jury Award.

Ciara Lacy - Hawaiian
Ciara Lacy – Hawaiian
Ciara Lacy is a Native Hawaiian filmmaker focused on challenging the creative and political status quo. Her films have shown at festivals and broadcast on platforms around the world. Notably, she is the inaugural Sundance Merata Mita Fellow.
Connor McNally - Métis
Connor McNally – Métis
Conor McNally is a filmmaker and photographer based in amiskwaciy (Edmonton, Treaty 6). He has made numerous short films to date including “ôtênaw” (2017) and “IIKAAKIIMAAT” (2019). His most recent film, Very Present (2020), was produced by the National Film Board of Canada. Currently, he is working on an independent feature length documentary about the iconic painter George Littlechild. Conor is a proud father, backyard rink builder and member of the Métis Nation of Alberta.
Emile Péronard - Inuk
Emile Péronard – Inuk
Emile Hertling Péronard is a Greenlandic film producer based in Copenhagen. He received the Jane Glassco Award for an Emerging Filmmaker and The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Emerging Talent at imagineNATIVE in 2014. Alongside his producing work he’s also the Industry Director at Nuuk International Film Festival.


The Water Jury is responsible for adjudicating the Digital + Interactive Award, Mid-Career and the Digital + Interactive Award, Emerging.

Jason Baerg - Métis
Jason Baerg – Métis
Jason Baerg is a Métis curator, educator and visual artist from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan. As a visual artist, he pushes new boundaries with digital interventions in drawing, painting and new media installations. Often through means of visual abstraction, Baerg’s projects work with various themes such as language, the Anthropocene and Indigenous connections to land and the environment.
Dr. Ngarino Ellis - Māori
Dr. Ngarino Ellis – Māori
Associate Professor Ngarino Ellis (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou) is New Zealand’s only Māori art history lecturer and she’s on a mission to change the discipline. She is the Head of Department at the University of Auckland. She has just won an award in the New Zealand Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards. Her research on Māori art history focuses on identifying, promoting and recuperating matauranga (knowledge) in relation to art forms, art practices, artists and theories.


The Land Jury is responsible for adjudicating the Experimental Audio Award and the Narrative Audio Award.

Lisa Myers Ojibwe
Lisa Myers Ojibwe
Lisa Myers is a curator and artist with an interest in interdisciplinary collaboration. Myers has a Master of Fine Arts in Criticism and Curatorial practice from OCAD University. Her recent work involves printmaking, stop-motion animation and performance. She is currently an Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change (formerly the Faculty of Environmental Studies) at York University. Myers is a member of Beausoleil First Nation and is based in Port Severn and Toronto, Ontario.
Rick Harp - Cree
Rick Harp – Cree
Host/producer of MEDIA INDIGENA, an Indigenous current affairs podcast launched in the spring of 2016, Rick Harp’s two decades of broadcasting and communications experience include on-air roles with the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). A former Artistic Director with the Winnipeg Aboriginal Film Festival, Rick is part of the Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation in northern Saskatchewan.
Scroll to Top